AMC Garners Five WGA Award Nominations for Critically Acclaimed Original Dramas ”Mad Men” and ”Breaking Bad”

Only Basic Cable Network to Receive Nominations for Original Series

New York, NY – December 14, 2009 – On Monday, December 14, 2009, the Writers Guild of America (WGA) announced its nominees for outstanding achievement in television, radio, news, promotional writing, and graphic animation during the 2009 season. AMC’s award-winning original series "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad" were both honored. "Mad Men received three nominations while "Breaking Bad" was honored with two nominations.

Written by: Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, George Mastras, J. Roberts,
John Shiban, and Moira Walley-Beckett
AMC, produced by Sony Pictures Television

Written by: Lisa Albert, Andrew Colville, Kater Gordon, Cathryn Humphris, Andre & MariaJacquemetton,
Brett Johnson, Erin Levy, Marti Noxon, Robin Veith, Dahvi Waller and Matthew Weiner
AMC, produced by Lionsgate

EPISODIC DRAMA – Two nominations for "MAD MEN"
"The Grown-Ups" Written by Brett Johnson and Matthew Weiner
AMC, produced by Lionsgate

"Guy Walks into an Advertising Agency" Written by Robin Veith
and Matthew Weiner
AMC, produced by Lionsgate

EPISODIC DRAMA – One nomination for "Breaking Bad"
"Phoenix" Written by John Shiban
AMC, produced by Sony Pictures Television

About "Mad Men"
Set in early 1960s New York, "Mad Men" follows the lives of the ruthlessly competitive men and women of Madison Avenue advertising. Created, written and executive produced by Matthew Weiner ("The Sopranos"), the show’s cast includes 2007 Golden Globe® winner Jon Hamm, Elisabeth Moss, Vincent Kartheiser, January Jones, Christina Hendricks, and John Slattery and guest stars legendary stage and screen star Robert Morse. "Mad Men" is produced by Lionsgate in association with AMC.

About "Breaking Bad"
Created by acclaimed writer/producer/director Vince Gilligan ("The X-Files"), "Breaking Bad" follows Walter White (Bryan Cranston), a milquetoast high school chemistry teacher who discovers he is dying of lung cancer. Desperate to secure his family’s financial future, Walt teams up with a former student, Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul), to turn a used RV into a mobile drug lab. Filmed on location in Albuquerque, NM, "Breaking Bad" stars back-to-back Emmy® Award winner Bryan Cranston, Emmy® nominated Aaron Paul, Anna Gunn, Dean Norris, Betsy Brandt, and RJ Mitte. "Breaking Bad" is produced by Sony Pictures Television is association with AMC.

About AMC
AMC reigns as the only basic cable network to win back-to-back Primetime Emmy® Awards for Outstanding Drama Series and Golden Globe® Awards for Best Television Series – Drama and boasts a comprehensive library of the most entertaining movies of all time. Whether commemorating favorite films from every genre and decade or creating acclaimed original productions, the AMC experience is an uncompromising celebration of great stories. AMC’s original stories include the Emmy® Award-winning dramas "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad," the upcoming miniseries "The Prisoner" and insightful non-scripted programming such as AMC News. AMC further demonstrates its commitment to the art of storytelling with curated movie franchises like AMC Hollywood Icon and AMC Complete Collection. Available in more than 95 million homes (Source: Nielsen Media Research), AMC is a subsidiary of Rainbow Media Holdings LLC, which includes sister networks IFC, Sundance Channel, WE tv and Wedding Central. AMC is available across all platforms including on-air, online, on demand and mobile. AMC: Story Matters HereSM.

Press Contacts

  • Theano Apostolou

    Olivia Dupuis