FSN Florida Honored With Five Emmy Nominations

(SUNRISE, FL) – The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) recognized FSN Florida for programming and production excellence by nominating the network for five local Emmy Awards at its annual nominations reception on Saturday, October 23, 2004. FSN Florida received nominations for its 2004 coverage of Florida Marlins and Tampa Bay Devil Rays baseball, and Florida Panthers hockey. Jeff Genthner, FSN Florida’s Senior Vice President and General Manager, made the announcement.

“FSN Florida is truly grateful to the Suncoast Chapter of NATAS for bestowing this prestigious recognition on the dedicated and talented people who work tirelessly to produce exceptional entertainment programming,” said Jeff Genthner, FSN Florida’s Senior Vice President and General Manager. “We congratulate the other nominees recognized by NATAS for their achievements in 2004 and look forward to a night of celebrating outstanding television programming and production at the awards night in December.”

The 2004 Emmy nominations mark the third year that FSN Florida’s Tampa Bay Devil Rays game telecasts have been honored and the second year for Florida Panthers coverage. FSN Florida won an Emmy Award in 2002 for Tampa Bay Devil Rays live game coverage and in 2001 for the Florida Panthers. Marlins Strike Zone was honored once again with a nomination for outstanding achievement for a sports series; the program won two Emmy Awards in 2002.

FSN Florida’s nominations were received in the following categories:

Outstanding Achievement for Sports Events, Live Events/Game Coverage:
Tampa Bay Devil Rays Baseball – Brad Heard, executive producer; Thom Hastings, producer/director; Tom Barberi, associate producer; Dewayne Staats, play-by-play announcer,
Joe Magrane, color analyst; Todd Kalas, host.

Florida Panthers Hockey – Brad Heard, executive producer, Mike Rubin producer; Denis Potvin, color analyst; Jiggs McDonald, play-by-play announcer during guest appearance; Craig Minervini, host.

Outstanding Achievement for Sports Program, Series:
Florida Marlins Baseball – “The Will To Win” Marlins Championship Special
Brad Heard, executive producer; Mike Fernandes, producer; Craig Minervini, host.

Marlins Strike Zone – Brad Heard, executive producer; Bob Grossman, director/producer; Stephanie Vainder, host.

Outstanding Achievement for Reporting:
Florida Marlins Baseball – “The Will To Win” Marlins Championship Special
Craig Minervini, host.

The 2004 Suncoast Emmy Awards will be presented on Saturday, December 11, 2004. The Suncoast Chapter of NATAS presents Emmy Awards in the Southeastern United States, including Florida and regions of Texas, Louisiana, Alabama, Georgia, and Puerto Rico.

FSN Florida reaches over 5 million households in Florida. FSN Florida’s programming includes Major League Baseball’s Florida Marlins and Tampa Bay Devil Rays, the National Hockey League’s Florida Panthers, the University of Miami, The Best Damn Sports Show Period, I, Max, The Sports List and NASCAR. FSN Florida is managed by Rainbow Sports Networks.

Rainbow Sports Networks is a division of Rainbow Media Holdings LLC, a subsidiary of Cablevision Systems Corporation (NYSE:CVC). FSN reaches more than 81 million households nationwide and is a service of National Sports Partners, equally owned by Rainbow Media Holdings LLC and Fox Entertainment Group. Rainbow Sports Networks incorporates Rainbow’s 50% ownership in FSN and FSN National Advertising and the ownership and management of FSN regional networks in five of the nation’s largest markets: Chicago, San Francisco, New England, Ohio and Florida.

Press Contacts

  • Diana Hanford
    FSN Florida, Communications Manager